Renegotiationproof

Renegotiationproof, photographer, Washington, US.

Tell us something about what you do.
I currently live in Washington, DC. I am a self-taught photographer and I do photography because I like it. I have formal training in social sciences and I work full time in that field.

How did you start to work with photography? When your passion for photography did come about?
I certainly ignored photography quite a while. However, when I thought it was about the time to explore my creativity (this must be my mid-twenties), I realized that I wasn’t good with words. Then photography became an attractive alternative for it didn’t require any verbal skills. I also thought it provided a legitimate way to walk around, stare at people and observe the life in general. My interest in photography increased within time as I started to realize that my camera can help me isolate the subject from rest of the world and enjoy thinking about it in that isolation.

How would you describe your own style?

I can’t provide the analytics of my style as I don’t know it myself. However, as a general observation, I can say that I tend to create pictures that tell us some stories or describe a physical or emotional context.

How do you come up with your ideas or inspirations? What inspires you?
I derive my inspirations from my own experiences in daily life. When I shoot a picture, and/or when I edit it, I wouldn’t understand it if it doesn’t resonate with some memory, idea or feeling I’ve had before. And when I don’t understand/feel an image, I can’t/don’t produce it. Therefore, everything that contributes to my history also contributes to my inspiration: my childhood, my friends, my girlfriends, music, animals, other people, etc.. I tend to avoid thinking about the shoot in advance so that I can go there with an empty/unstructured mind, and avoid imposing unproductive ideas on an environment. Therefore, each photo shoot is a distinct creative process in my case. My photographs usually happen; I don’t make them, they make themselves.

How much time do you spend on a single project? What kind of project do you prefer to work on?
I don’t spend any time before the shoot. And I can’t shoot for more than an hour or two as my creativity decreases steeply after the peak. However, the post-processing might take several days for each image. I enjoy working with other artists, especially models with strong emotional expressions and body language.

What gear and techniques do you use?
I currently have a Canon Eos 30D camera, with a 50 mm prime lens, 28-135 mm IS zoom lens and a 17-40 mm L wide-angle lens. I don’t own lighting equipment.

What are your plans in the future? Any upcoming project?
I want to do more travel and street photography. I have several upcoming trips to overseas, I will try to take advantage of them for that purpose.

More on:

Renegotiationproof on ModelMayhem

[ITA]

Raccontaci qualcosa di quello che fai. Attualmente vivo a Washington, DC. Sono un fotografo autodidatta e fotografo perché mi piace. Ho una formazione in scienze sociali e lavoro a tempo pieno in questo settore.
Come hai iniziato a lavorare con la fotografia? Quando la tua passione per la fotografia è arrivata? Ho ignorato la fotografia un po’. Tuttavia, quando ho pensato che era il momento di esplorare la mia creatività (questo dovrebbe essere intorno ai miei venticinque anni), ho capito che non ero bravo con le parole. Poi la fotografia è diventata una valida alternativa, e non richiedeva alcuna abilità verbale. Ho anche pensato che abbia fornito un modo per passeggiare, guardare le persone e osservare la vita in generale. Il mio interesse per la fotografia è aumentato nel tempo, come ho iniziato a capire che la mia macchina fotografica mi può aiutare a isolare il soggetto dal resto dal mondo e apprezzare il pensarlo in quell’ isolamento.
Come descriveresti il tuo stile? Non posso fornire una spiegazione del mio stile in quanto non lo so nemmeno io. Tuttavia, come osservazione generale, posso dire che tendo a creare immagini che ci raccontano alcune storie o descrivere un contesto fisico o emotivo.


Come vengono fuori le tue idee o ispirazioni? Che cosa ti ispira? Traggo le mie ispirazioni dalla mia esperienza nella vita quotidiana. Quando scatto una foto, e/o quando la modifico, non la capirei nemmeno, se non fossi in sintonia con un certo ricordo, o un sentimento che ho avuto in precedenza. E quando non capisco/sento un’ immagine, non posso/non voglio produrla. Pertanto, tutto ciò che contribuisce alla mia storia contribuisce anche alla mia ispirazione: la mia infanzia, i miei amici, le mie amiche, la musica, gli animali, altre persone, ecc. Tendo ad evitare di pensare allo scatto in anticipo in modo che posso andare lì con un vuoto o un’idea non strutturata, ed evitare di imporre le idee improduttive in un ambiente. Pertanto, ogni servizio fotografico è un processo creativo distinto nel mio caso. Le mie fotografie di solito accadono, non li faccio, si fanno da sé.
Quanto tempo dedichi ad un unico progetto? A che tipo di progetto preferisci lavorare? Non perdo tempo prima degli scatti. E non posso fotografare per più di un’ora o due, in quanto la mia creatività diminuisce bruscamente dopo il picco. Tuttavia, la post-elaborazione potrebbe richiedere diversi giorni per ogni immagine. Mi piace lavorare con altri artisti, soprattutto i modelli con forte espressione emotiva e linguaggio del corpo.
Quali attrezzi e le tecniche usi?Al momento ho una fotocamera Canon EOS 30D, con un primo obiettivo 50 mm, 28-135 mm IS zoom e di un 17-40 mm L obiettivo grandangolare. Non ho una mia attrezzatura d’ illuminazione.
Quali sono i tuoi progetti per il futuro? Qualche progetto imminente? Voglio fare più viaggi e fotografia di strada. Ho diversi prossimi viaggi di oltremare, cercherò di approfittare per tali propositi.

Thanks a lot, R.

Questa voce è stata pubblicata in Interview, Photography e contrassegnata con , , , . Contrassegna il permalink.

Una risposta a Renegotiationproof

  1. Shoaib ha detto:

    Excellent Blog With Awesome Picture, Like It…SM..

Lascia un commento

