Berta Pfirsich

Berta Pfirsich, who just plays and takes some photographs Barcelona.

Tell us something about what you do.
I’m from Barcelona, I like to drink beer with lemon and my favorite movie is The Neverending Story. I studied Library Science and I work as a journalist.

How did you get into photography?
I started taking photos when I was fifteen with my first love. I basically had the necessity of taking pictures for remembering some moments. Obviously, the same way I didn’t trust on my memory and I’m nostalgic, I don’t trust in digital. I never stop taking pictures since that moment.

How would you describe your own style?
Never planned, spontaneous, disaster, nostalgic, anti-technical, shoegaze.

What inspires you?
Everything, people, animals, music…lately I’m quite obsessed with Jesus & Mary Chain and I spend a lot of time watching the Wildlife tv.

How much time do you spend on a single project? What kind of project do you prefer to work on?
I like to work without rules of space-time-style, so I can be working in something for years. If I have a fashion project I really need to choose the models and do it my way, if I don’t know the people I have to photograph it’s uncomfortable. It’s so important to have empathy and love with the subject…if not have no sense.

Besides photography, you have another passion: music. Your band “Der Ventilator” (I love this name) is quite known in spanish musical scene. Do you wanna talk about your band and your upcoming project as musician? and Lastly what is the link between music and photography for you?
We’re going to release our second ep ‘White’ this month with Desire Records and I’m so excited about this. I don’t consider myself a musician (the same way I don’t consider myself a photographer) but I really enjoy a lot playing and traveling, I just play and I just take photographs, but I’m anti-professional with this.

Who are some of your favorite artist (musicians as well if you want)? And why?
I really adore pre-raphaelites shades, historical photos of destruction and ramdom photographers who took anti-style or lovely photos of his friends: basically youth without devices and dreamy pictures. I specially like some flickr generation photographers like ƒenk, Lukasz Wierzbowski, Luke Byrne, Carl Heindl, Jordan Carroll and Robert Moses Joyce. Actually, the artwork of our second ep it’s from Robert.

What are your plans in the future?
Make a better edition of my fanzine ‘POLVO’ and marry Michael Skattum.

More on:

Berta on Flickr.com

[ITA]

Raccontaci qualcosa di quello che fai. Vengo da Barcelona, mi piace bere birra con il limone e il mio film preferito è La Storia Infinita. Ho studiato scienze bibliotecarie e lavoro come giornalista.

Come sei entrata nel mondo della fotografia? Ho iniziato a fare foto quando avevo quindici anni con il mio primo amore. In pratica ho avuto la necessità di scattare foto per ricordare alcuni momenti. Ovviamente, allo stesso modo non ho fiducia nella mia memoria e sono nostalgica, non mi fido del digitale. Non smetto mai di scattare da quel momento.
Come descriveresti il tuo stile? Non previsto, spontaneo, disastroso, nostalgico, anti-tecnico, shoegaze.
Che cosa ti ispira? Tutto, persone, animali, musica … ultimamente mi sono abbastanza ossessionata con Jesus & Mary Chain e spendo un sacco di tempo a guardare the Wildlife Tv.
Quanto tempo dedichi ad un unico progetto? A che tipo di progetto preferisci lavorare? Mi piace lavorare senza regole dello spazio-tempo-stile, così posso lavorare a qualcosa per anni. Se ho un progetto di moda ho davvero bisogno di scegliere i modelli e fare a modo mio, se io non conosco le persone che devo fotografare mi sento a disagio. E’ così importante avere empatia e amore con il soggetto … sennò non ha alcun senso. 

Oltre alla fotografia, hai un’altra passione: la musica. La tua band “Der Ventilator” (amo questo nome) è abbastanza nota nel panorama musicale spagnolo. Vuoi parlare della tua band e del tuo prossimo progetto come musicista? e infine qual è il legame tra musica e fotografia per te?
Abbiamo intenzione di rilasciare il nostro secondo ep ‘White’ di questo mese con la Desire Records e sono così entusiasta. Non mi considero una musicista (allo stesso modo non mi considero una fotografa), ma mi piace molto suonare e viaggiare, io solo suono e faccio fotografie e con questo sono molto anti-professionale.

Chi sono i tuoi artisti preferiti (anche musicisti se vuoi)? E perché? Io adoro davvero le sfumature preraffaellite, foto storiche di distruzione e qualche fotografo che faceva foto carine o senza stile dei suoi amici: in fondo i giovani senza i dispositivi e le immagini da sogno. In particolare mi piace qualche fotografo della generazione flickr come ƒenk (http://www.flickr.com/people/fenk/), Lukasz Wierzbowski, Luca Byrne, Carl Heindl, Giordania Carroll e Robert Moses Joyce. In realtà, l’opera d’arte del nostro secondo ep è di Robert.
Quali sono i tuoi progetti per il futuro? Fare un’ edizione migliore di ‘POLVO’ la mia fanzine e sposare Michael Skattum

Thanks a lot, Berta.

Questa voce è stata pubblicata in Interview, Music, Photography, Video e contrassegnata con , , , , , . Contrassegna il permalink.

Lascia un commento

