Simone Held

Simone, Photomanipulation Genius, Germany.

Tell us something about what you do.
Job-wise I haven’t anything to do with Photoshop or art: I’m a teacher in Germany. I went to the university for six years, studied English and German literature and linguistics, graduated and went off to school. Now I’m teaching German pupils from age 10-19 and believe it or not, I like it!

How did you get into photomanipulation?
Well, I discovered PS about five years ago. I started getting into PS by doing vexels and vectors but I soon discovered that I just can’t muster up the patience you need for them. Deviantart.com gave me some additional inspiration to try out on the photomanipulation genre because I’ve always liked the (photomanip) artworks around DA. I (still) find it very exciting and fascinating what brilliant artworks you are able to produce with just a bunch of photos and some PS knowledge.

How would you describe your own style?
My own style is basically settled in the conceptual and/or surreal genre how I plan to go more into surrealism in the future.

How do you come up with your ideas or inspirations?
I get inspiration from anywhere but mostly from my fellow artists on DA. Sometimes (and this is very exciting) the finished piece just jumps at me when I look at a certain stock image.

How much time do you spend on a single project?What kind of project do you prefer to work on?
The time I spend on project varies because it usually depends on the time I’ve got available and on my inspiration flow because sometimes I just hit a dead-end and then I’m just stuck. In this case, some pieces are never finished or they just take a while to be finished, but I usually spend between 5-6 hours on a project, whereas I don’t work on them every single day. My favorite projects are the easy ones, and I don’t mean simple uninspired projects but those that come to me easily. The easiest process is to have a good idea and good stock images avaiable. That’s it.

What gear and techniques do you use?
I just use Photoshop CS5. I’ve got a tablet (Wacom Bamboo) but I rarely use it because I avoid painted elements (I’m a bad painter!).

Do you have any tips to share with photomanipulation beginners?
My best tip is to experiment. Try out EVERYTHING. Do not settle on a certain style too early because there’s so much to try out and discover and learn. I know we’ve all got our favorite artists and we want to be like them but it’s boring being another copycat. So, step away from a certain style. …and read lots of tutorials. It really does help!

 

Who are some of your favorite artist? And why?
My favorite artists are some of my fellow DA colleagues: Elton Fernandes, Mario Sanchez Nevado, Elisabeth Pach and Murat Turan. They are just brilliant and keep me inspired.

What are your plans in the future? Any upcoming project?
My plans for the future always include improvement when it comes to technique and concept. I learn a lot from my favorites artists and try to to put it into practice. Like I said, I wan to move into surrealism a bit more, use more complex techniques, be a bit more elaborate. Addtl. I want to revamp my own group (PremierPhotomanips) a bit more and see what comes out…

More on:

Simone’s DeviantArt

[ITA]

Raccontaci qualcosa di quello che fai.
Non ho nulla a che fare con Photoshop o l’ arte: sono un insegnante in Germania. Ho frequentato l’università per sei anni, ha studiato letteratura inglese e tedesca e linguistica, mi sono laureata e andò a scuola. Ora sto insegnando tedesco ai ragazzi dai 10-19 anni e che ci crediate o no, mi piace!Come sei arrivata al fotoritocco?
Beh, ho scoperto PS circa cinque anni fa. Ho iniziato con PS facendo vexel e vettori, ma presto ho scoperto che non riesco proprio ad avere la pazienza necessaria per farli. Deviantart.com mi ha dato qualche spunto ulteriore per provare il genere di photomanip. perché mi sono sempre piaciute le opere d’arte (photomanip) in giro su DA. Lo trovo ancora molto emozionante e affascinante che siano in grado di produrre brillanti opere d’arte con solo un mucchio di foto e qualche conoscenza di PS.

Come descriveresti il tuo stile?
Il mio stile sostanzialmente consiste nel genere concettuale e/o surreale così come ho intenzione di andare più sul surrealismo in futuro.

Come vengono fuori le tue idee o ispirazioni?
Ricevo ispirazione da qualsiasi luogo, ma soprattutto dai miei colleghi artisti su DA. A volte (e questo è molto emozionante) il pezzo finito mi salta agli occhi quando guardo qualche immagine stock.

Quanto tempo dedichi ad un unico progetto?A che tipo di progetto preferisci lavorare?
Il tempo che passo sul progetto varia, perché di solito dipende dal tempo che ho a disposizione e dal mio flusso di ispirazione, perché a volte prendo un vicolo cieco e poi rimango bloccata. In questo caso, alcuni pezzi non sono mai finiti o altri prendono un po’ di tempo per essere finiti, ma di solito spendo tra le 5-6 ore su un progetto, considerato che non lavoro su di loro ogni singolo giorno. I miei progetti preferiti sono quelli facili, e non intendo semplici progetti di ispirazione, ma quelle che mi vengono facilmente. Il metodo più semplice processo è quello di avere una buona idea e buone immagini di stock a disposizione. Tutto qui.

Quali attrezzi e tecniche usi?
Io uso solo CS5 Photoshop. Ho una tavoletta grafica (Wacom Bamboo), ma raramente la uso perché evito gli elementi dipinti (Io non sono una brava pittrice!).

Hai suggerimenti da condividere con i principianti del photomanip.?
Il mio miglior consiglio è quello di sperimentare. Provare tutto. Non accontentatevi di un certo stile troppo presto, perché c’è così tanto da provare e scoprire e imparare. So che tutti abbiamo i nostri artisti preferiti e vogliamo essere come loro ma è noioso, è un altra copia. Così, state lontani da un certo stile. … E leggete un sacco di tutorial. È veramente d’ aiuto!

Chi sono alcuni dei tuoi artista preferiti? E perché?
I miei artisti preferiti sono alcuni dei miei colleghi DA: Elton Fernandes, Mario Sanchez Nevado, Elisabeth Pach e Murat Turan. Sono semplicemente brillanti e mi danno ispirazione.

Quali sono i tuoi progetti per il futuro? Qualche progetto imminente?
I miei progetti per il futuro riguardano sempre il miglioramento quando si tratta di tecnica e concetto. Ho imparato molto dai miei artisti preferiti e cerco di mettere in pratica. Come ho detto, mi voglio spostare sul surrealismo un po’ di più, utilizzare tecniche più complesse, un po’ più elaborate. In più voglio rinnovare il mio gruppo (PremierPhotomanips) un po’ di più e vedere cosa viene fuori …

Thanks a lot, Simone.

Questa voce è stata pubblicata in Art, Interview, Photomanipulation e contrassegnata con , , , . Contrassegna il permalink.

Una risposta a Simone Held

  1. BLOG HERE ha detto:

    Fastidious respond in return of this matter with real arguments and
    telling the whole thing regarding that.

Lascia un commento

