Saskia

Saskia Gutekunst, freelancer artist, Brema.

Tell us something about what you do.
I create Comics, Illustrations and CharacterDesigns for a living and otherwise draw what I like to draw

How is your life as freelancer artist?
Not much different from being employed as far as my experience goes… Except you have to dicipline yourself for getting the work done. And its cool to be a bit more flexible. But I also enjoyed working in a company with my colleagues.
Both sides have their pro´s and con´s.

How would you describe your own style?
I can´t describe that as I feel that there is nothing special with my work that could be seen as something solely unique to my own work. But I really like to hear what others see when they see my art, everyone has a different point of view. I think thats interesting.

How much time do you spend on a single project?
Depends

What tools or techniques do you use?
I usually work digitally for commercial work, as it is faster and easier to correct things.
For my private work I like ink and ballpoint pens a lot ! I also like to mix digital and traditional tools.

What inspires you?
Everything. You can learn from everything and everyone if you live with an open mind

Who are some of your favorite artist? And why?
There are so many, but I think the biggest influences are probably Claire Wendling and Takehiko Inoue. Claire is just an awesome artist with so much skill that its breathtaking, looking at her work makes me want to draw immediately.
Same goes for Takehiko Inoue but in addition I also have a lot of respect for his ability as a storyteller. His whole work is somehow… I´d like to use the word “honest”. There is nothing unnecessary, everything has its place, you won´t find images that are merely to “show off” and his Characters are so painfully human. Its this honesty that has moved,impressed and inspired me for a long time and continues to do so.

What are your plans in the future? Any upcoming project?
I´m working on something right now, but I cannot talk about it yet. Other than that there is a 3DCG Movie, called “Die Konferenz der Tiere” (http://www.kdt.film.de/), coming into (german) Cinemas this October, where I worked on as a Concept artist for Colors and Backgrounds. I don´t know if there is a release in other European Countrys… Another (2D Animation) Movie where I helped out with the Character designs will be in german Cinemas sometime 2011…

——————————————————————————————————–

More on:

coyotesaskia.blogspot.com

[ITA]
Raccontaci qualcosa di quello che fai. Creo fumetti, illustrazioni e CharacterDesigns per lavoro e in ogni caso disegno quello che mi piace disegnare.
Com’è la tua vita come artista freelance?Non molto diverso dall’ essere assunti per quanto riguarda la mia esperienza …Tranne che devi disciplinare te stesso per portare a termine il lavoro. E’ il suo bello essere un po’ più flessibili. Ma mi piace anche lavorare in società con i miei colleghi. Entrambe le parti hanno i loro pro e i contro.
Come descriveresti il tuo stile? Non posso descriverlo in quanto ritengo che non vi è nulla di speciale nel mio lavoro che potrebbe essere descritto come il mio proprio stile. Ma mi piace sentire ciò che altri vedono quando vedono la mia arte, ognuno ha un diverso punto di vista. E’ molto interessante.
Quanto tempo dedichi su un singolo progetto? Dipende.
Quali strumenti o tecniche utilizzi? Di solito lavoro in digitale per il lavoro commerciale, in quanto è più veloce e semplice per correggere le cose. Per il mio lavoro personale mi piacciono molto le penne ad inchiostro e a sfera! Mi piace anche mescolare strumenti digitali e tradizionali.
Che cosa ti ispira? Tutto. Si può imparare da tutto e tutti se si vive con una mente aperta.
Chi sono i tuoi artista preferiti? E perché? Ce ne sono così tanti, ma penso che le più grandi influenze sono probabilmente Claire Wendling e Takehiko Inoue. Claire è solo un artista con impressionante abilità che è mozzafiato, guardando il suo lavoro mi fa venire voglia di disegnare immediatamente. Lo stesso vale per Takehiko Inoue, ma in aggiunta ho anche molto rispetto per la sua abilità di narratore. Tutta la sua opera è in qualche modo… Mi piacerebbe usare la parola “onesto”. Non c’è nulla di superfluo, tutto ha il suo posto, non troverete le immagini che si limita a “mostrare” e suoi personaggi sono così dolorosamente umani. Questa la sua onestà che mi ha commosso, mi ha impressionato e ispirato per lungo tempo e continua a farlo.
Quali sono i tuoi progetti per il futuro? Qualche progetto imminente? Sto lavorando a qualcosa ora, ma non posso ancora parlarne. Oltre a questo vi è un 3DCG film, chiamato “Die Konferenz der Tiere” [La conferenza degli animali](http://www.kdt.film.de/), sarà nei cinema(tedeschi) ad ottobre, dove ho lavorato come concept artist per i colori e sfondi. Non so se vi è una versione in altri Paesi d’Europa … Un altro (animazione 2D) film in cui ho collaborato nella progettazione dei personaggi sarà nei cinema tedeschi nel 2011 circa…

Thanks a lot Saskia!

Questa voce è stata pubblicata in Art, Illustration, Interview e contrassegnata con , , , , , . Contrassegna il permalink.

Lascia un commento

