Katie

Katie, 21, Photographer, Berlin – Posen.


Tell us something about what you do.
I live in Berlin now but originally I’m from Poland. However Berlin is much more amazing place for working and living. I love it here. Despite the fact Im still studying in Poland at University of Fine Arts in Posen where i study photography. It’s a lil bit messed up and basically I live in a 3 different places haha.

How did you get into photography?
My adventure with a photography has started quite ordinary I guess. I was something about 15 years old, my mum bought a digital camera and it was kind of a huge event for me. So i started taking pictures, usually of myself, some reeeally silly pictures. Suddenly i have realized how an amazing thing camera is, and how many stories i can tell trough pictures. I wanted to show my pains, my stories, my everything to the world. I guess that camera has became my very best friend with whom im always honest and who knows me best.

How would you describe your own style?
My style? I guess its pretty much mixed as I’m. I think Im too young to say I’ve got defined style. Lets leave this questions to some smart critics haha.

How do you come up with your ideas or inspirations?
Most of the ideas come to my mind when im listening to music. Music used to be my love number one and still it has got quite a big influence on my art. However, i consider almost everything to be inspiring. I guess thats my job as a photographer to ponder ordinary objects and stories inspiring and turn them into something unique. When it comes to ideas, well, I always was good in making ideas. Ive got loads of notebooks with very random projects and I guess, most of them will be never made.

How much time do you spend on a single project?
It really depends. Some of the projects take me a couple of hours and some take me a few years.

Do you have a favorite camera to use?
I love all my cameras. More or less but still.  I don’t have a favourite one. I take care of them and treat them like a babies haha.

Who are some of your favorite artist? And why?
There are hundreds of an amazing artists who inspire me and who i love. But for sure I’m a big fan of Diane Arbus, Joel Peter Witkin, Maya Deren and Lee Miller. They all are amazing characters, have been through a lot and their art is really powerful so you know it was coming straight from their hearts and crazy minds. When it comes to more contemporary artists I trully love works of Lina Sheynius, Sandy Kim, Ryan McGinley, Dash Snow, Daniel Sannwald, Ali Mahdavi and Alex Box as my favourite make up artist.

What are your plans in the future? Any upcoming project?
My plans are really simple. I want to do what im doing, get better and better in what im doing and yeah, finding a good job is something i really wouldnt mind haha.
As I’ve said before I’ve got many undone projects so I hope to start some of them in a nearly future.

More on:

KATIEVSANYBODY

———————————————————————-

[ITA]

Dicci qualcosa su quello che fai. Vivo a Berlino, ma in origine vengo dalla Polonia. Ma Berlino è un posto molto più sorprendente per vivere e lavorare. Mi piace qui. Nonostante  io stia ancora studiando in Polonia presso l’Università di Belle Arti di Posen, dove studio fotografia. È un po’ incasinato e in fondo vivo in 3 diversi luoghi.

Come hai iniziato a fotografare? La mia avventura con una fotografia è iniziata abbastanza normalmente, credo. Avrò avuto circa 15 anni, mia madre ha acquistato una fotocamera digitale e si è trattato di un grande evento per me. Così ho iniziato a scattare foto, di solito di me stessa, alcune immagini veramente sciocche. Improvvisamente mi sono resa conto di come una macchina fotografica sia una cosa stupefacente, e quante storie posso raccontare attraverso le immagini. Volevo mostrare le mie sofferenze, le mie storie, tutto il mio mondo. Immagino che la fotocamera sia diventata la mia migliore amica con la quale sono sempre onesta e che mi conosce meglio.


Come descriveresti il tuo stile? Il mio stile? Credo che sia abbastanza vario proprio come me. Penso di essere troppo giovane per dire che ho uno stile definito. Lasciamo questa domanda a qualche critico più intelligente.

Come vengono fuori le tue idee o ispirazioni? La maggior parte delle idee mi vengono in mente quando ascolto la musica. La musica è stata il mio primo amore e ancora ha una grande influenza sulla mia arte. Tuttavia, ritengo che quasi tutto possa essere d’ispirazione. Credo che il mio lavoro di fotografo stia nel riflettere gli oggetti ordinari e storie d’ispirazione e trasformarli in qualcosa di unico. Quando si tratta di idee, beh, sono sempre stata brava ad averne. Possiedo un sacco di notebook con vari progetti e credo che la maggior parte di loro non sarà mai realizzata.


Quanto tempo impieghi per un singolo progetto? Dipende davvero. Alcuni progetti richiedono un paio d’ore e alcuni richiedono alcuni anni.

Hai una macchina fotografica preferita da usare? Amo tutte le mie macchine fotografiche. Più o meno. Non ne ho una favorito. Mi prendo cura di loro e li tratto come bambini.

Chi sono alcuni dei tuoi artisti preferiti? E perché? Ci sono centinaia di artisti incredibili che mi ispirano e che amo. Ma di sicuro sono un grande fan di Diane Arbus, Joel Peter Witkin, Maya Deren e Lee Miller. Sono tutti personaggi sorprendenti, ne hanno passate tante e la loro arte è davvero potente in modo da sapere che è venuta direttamente dai loro cuori e menti folle. Quando si tratta di artisti contemporanei amo davvero le opere di Lina Sheynius, Sandy Kim, Ryan McGinley, Dash Snow, Daniel Sannwald, Ali Mahdavi e Alex Box, il mio make up artist preferito.

Thanks a lot, Katie.


Questa voce è stata pubblicata in Art, Interview, Photography e contrassegnata con , , , , , . Contrassegna il permalink.

Lascia un commento

