Emilie Boudet

Emilie, illustrator and graphic designer, Paris.


Tell us something about what you do.
I am an illustrator and graphic designer. I work mostly for the cultural market (illustrations or animations for exhibitions and museum, posters for musical or theatre shows…), and i also make illustrations for children.

How is your life as freelancer artist?
For the moment I work at home… my studio is also my bedroom! I wish i could share a studio with other creative people, someday…
I make a difference between my commissioned work and my personal projects. The hardest thing is to keep time to work on personal projects when i have a lot of commissioned work… But working as a freelancer allows me also to work from different places (thanks to Internet !), and i love this form of freedom.

I’d been admiring your sketch and travel books for hours. It’s like traveling with you and living a bit of your life [I read a few word in Italian]. Can you explain the idea behind these books?
I began my first travel book five years ago, as i was an Erasmus student in Budapest. I think i needed to record my impressions and feelings, and it was also a daily training for drawing.
When i’m traveling i always have a sketchbook with me where i note the ordinary things that surprise me. I love to share it with other people, it is also a way to prolong the journey.

You’ve made some animation works too, what do you prefer: “animations” or “illustrations”?
Well, illustration is easier for me because it doesn’t require a particular technical knowledge… Animations are like playtime for me, but i don’t consider myself as a real “animator”. I just love to experiment different kind of animation (drawings image by image, modeling clay…) and have fun doing it.

How would you describe your own style?
I would say i have a kind of comic style, because i first draw with lines rather than with colours. I also love to mix photography and drawing. It can be something (for example a character) i add to a photo, or a photographed object i add to a drawing. I use also scanned textures that i collect from papers or material i find.

What inspires you?
Absurdity, poetry, feelings, sentences i hear in the street, funny situations i see, things that makes me angry or sad, philosophy… I’m very interested in people in general.

Who are some of you favorite artist? And why?
I love artists that make smart work, i mean, not only pretty or cute things but with a thought behind their work. Among illustrators, i admire the work of Serge Bloch, Beatrice Alemagna, Alberto Vazquez. I also love the simplicity and spontaneity of Quentin Blake’ illustrations. And i am very inspired by the work of Keri Smith, especially her theoretical thoughts.

What are your plans in the future? Any upcoming project?
I would love to publish my first book as illustrator and author… not sure yet of the theme i’ll choose. And i want to draw more comics.


————————————————————————————————————————————————–
More on:

www.emilieboudet.com
Emilie’s Blog
Emilie on Flickr

[ITA]
Dicci qualcosa su quello che fai. Sono un’ illustratrice e graphic designer. Lavoro principalmente per il mercato culturale (illustrazioni o animazioni per mostre e musei, manifesti per spettacoli teatrali o musicali …), e faccio anche delle illustrazioni per bambini.
Com’è la tua vita come artista freelancer? Per il momento lavoro a casa… il mio studio è anche la mia camera da letto! Spero di poter dividere uno studio con altre persone creative, un giorno… C’è una differenza tra il lavoro commissionato e i miei progetti personali. La cosa più difficile è quella di trovare il tempo per lavorare sui progetti personali, quando ho un sacco di lavoro… Ma lavorare come freelancer mi permette anche di lavorare da posti diversi (grazie a Internet!), e io amo questa forma di libertà.
Ho ammirato i tuoi sketch e i travel books per ore. È come viaggiare con te e vivere un po’ della tua vita [ho letto anche qualche parola in italiano] Puoi spiegare l’idea alla base di questi libri? Ho iniziato il mio primo travel book cinque anni fa, mentre ero studente Erasmus a Budapest. Credo che avessi bisogno di registrare le mie impressioni e sentimenti, ed è stato anche un allenamento quotidiano per il disegno.Quando sono in viaggio ho sempre un taccuino con me dove annoto le cose ordinarie che mi sorprendono. Mi piace condividere con le altre persone, ed è anche un modo per prolungare il viaggio.
Hai fatto anche qualche lavoro d’animazione, cosa preferisci: “animazione” o “illustrazione”? Beh, l’illustrazione è più facile per me perché non richiede una conoscenza tecnica particolare…  Le animazioni sono come un momento di svago, ma io non mi considero un vero “animatore”. Mi piace sperimentare diversi tipi di animazione (disegnare immagine dopo immagine, la plastilina …) e divertirmi a farlo.
Come descriveresti il tuo stile personale?Direi che ho uno stile comico, perché preferisco disegnare con le linee piuttosto che con i colori. Mi piace anche mescolare fotografia e disegno. Può essere un qualcosa (per esempio un personaggio) che aggiungo a una foto, o un oggetto fotografato aggiunto a un disegno. Io uso anche delle textures che colleziono da giornali o materiali che trovo.
Che cosa ti ispira?L’assurdità, la poesia, i sentimenti, le frasi che sento per strada, le situazioni divertenti che vedo, le cose che mi fanno arrabbiare o rattristare, la filosofia … Sono molto interessata alle persone in generale.
Chi sono gli artisti che preferisci? E perché?Io amo gli artisti che fanno un lavoro intelligente, voglio dire, non solo bello o carino, ma cose con un pensiero dietro il loro lavoro. Tra gli illustratori, ammiro l’opera di Serge Bloch, Beatrice Alemagna, Alberto Vazquez. Mi piace anche la semplicità e la spontaneità delle illustrazioni di Quentin Blake. E sono molto ispirata dal lavoro di Keri Smith, in particolare dal suo pensiero teorico.
Quali sono i tuoi progetti per il futuro? Qualsiasi progetto imminente?Mi piacerebbe pubblicare il mio primo libro come illustratrice e autrice… non sono ancora sicura del tema che sceglierò. E voglio disegnare ancora più fumetti.

Thanks a lot, Emilie!



Questa voce è stata pubblicata in Art, Illustration, Interview e contrassegnata con , , , , , . Contrassegna il permalink.

Una risposta a Emilie Boudet

  1. Pingback: Folklore danois : le vélo | Emilie Boudet

Lascia un commento

